The Zen of Dog Walking

We adopted a puppy a few months ago; a rottweiler/lab mix. He is the sweetest thing…except when he chews on everything that is NOT a dog toy and has no regard for bowling over our 18 month old daughter. After hearing good things, I watched and have become a new fan to the TV show “The Dog Whisperer”. I have to say that I have noticed a remarkable difference in our puppy’s behavior since using the training tools from the show. One of the major training tools is consistent exercise (Funny how it is a major training tool for humans as well)

EVERY morning at 6am I take our new puppy (now 10 months old) and our other family dog on a 30-40 minute walk through the neighborhood. As excruciating as it is to peel myself out of a warm bed, I truly enjoy the peace and quiet in the neighborhood at that time in the morning.

My mornings with the dogs are my time to reflect on life. Once the puppy does his “business”, we get into a groove and we keep a brisk pace. Lately, these walks have been my mental therapy. I do my best to let go of my thoughts of the nearly constant hurdles in our lives and I make a point to count my blessings. Changing my perspective from harping on the negative into being grateful for all the positives brings new energy and desire to push through and thrive.

In the words of one of my yoga instructors,

Inhale Tranquility…Exhale Chaos

Inhale Vitality…Exhale Lethargy

Inhale Self Confidence…Exhale Self Doubt

Namaste
Leave a Reply

